How To Handle Insurance Companies After You’ve Been In An Accident
Don’t let insurance companies stop you from getting the care you need!
Be sure that you understand your legal rights and options before you discuss, accept, or sign anything from an insurance company in Denver, Aurora, Wheat Ridge, and Greenwood Village! When the insurance company calls you, you have the right to tell that that you are busy and take a call back number in order to prepare yourself for the discussion. Call your doctor and/or your attorney for advice.
Accepting a low-ball check from an insurance company may mean that you are giving up your right to sue in the future, even if further medical care was necessary or if you missed work because of injuries you sustained. You do not have to tell them anything if you are not ready to. Get your ducks in a row first!
Don’t let the Insurance Adjuster become your doctor! They may ask you questions regarding your medical treatments or even state that you do not need care. Please simply tell them, “For any information concerning my medical care, you should talk to my doctor because he/she will be the most knowledgeable about my health.
According to Colorado Law, your automobile insurance company cannot raise your insurance rates because you create a claim for uninsured motorist benefits in a car accident where you were not at fault. Make sure you have Colorado Med-Pay Coverage with your insurance! It is important to have a minimum of $10,000 or more to ensure complete coverage of care for you, and anyone else who is in your vehicle. Med-Pay is a type of insurance which provides medical coverage for the insured driver and passengers for any injuries sustained in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault. Call your insurance provider immediately and see how much Med-Pay coverage you have!
More About “Med-Pay”
Med-Pay (i.e. Medical Payments Coverage, or MPC) was designed to provide coverage for immediate medical costs in the event of an accident. Coverage is up to the limit purchased by the consumer, including first responder and emergency room costs, and is extended to an insured driver and passengers within the vehicle, regardless of responsibility for the accident. As of January 1, 2009, Colorado Auto Insurance laws mandate that Med-Pay be offered with a minimum requirement of $5,000. There is an option to waive this benefit on an insurance policy, however without these benefits many auto insurance policies do not cover medical costs for insured parties when injured in an automobile accident. The problem with only $5,000 is that this amount generally does not cover full treatments needed after an accident. It is highly advised that all policy holders increase their Med-Pay to at least $10,000. It is possible that your premium may increase slightly with the addition of more Med-Pay, however it is worth the few dollars more per month to ensure full treatments for all drivers and passengers in $5,000 is that this amount generally does not cover full treatments needed after an accident. It is highly advised that all policy holders increase their Med-Pay to at least $10,000. It is possible that your premium may increase slightly with the addition of more Med-Pay, however it is worth the few dollars more per month to ensure full treatments for all drivers and passengers in the event of an accident!
We can even help you to get this increased on your policy so that you are sure to get the full coverage you need and deserve!
If you have more questions, give us a call! (303) 577-2040
This page is for information and academic purposes only. It is not meant to replace nor provide any legal advice, whatsoever. Please consult a licensed professional regarding any legal matters.
|Spanish or Vietnamese?|